IEEE International Conference on Computer Communications
29 April - 2 May 2019 // Paris, France


IEEE INTERNET AWARD—recognizes exceptional contributions to the advancement of Internet technology for network architecture, mobility, and/or end-use applications—sponsored by Nokia Corporation



For fundamental contributions to the programmability, stability, and performance of large computer networks, and leadership within the networking community

Jennifer Rexford’s insights and engineering innovations have made the Internet more stable, delivering the foundations that enable sound and highly reliable Internet performance. Rexford created methods to measure traffic, topology, and routing from multiple locations to obtain a network-wide view of large Internet backbone networks, which makes it possible to manage these networks effectively. The engineering of practically every wide-area network, from Internet service providers to Cloud providers, builds on Rexford’s pioneering work on the design and operation of large-scale networks. Her work on the Routing Control Platform, which proposed the explicit separation of control and data, helped shape today's Software Defined Networking (SDN) initiative, which has revolutionized networking by enabling greater innovation.

An IEEE Fellow, Rexford is the Gordon Y.S. Wu Professor of Engineering and Chair of Computer Science Department at Princeton University, Princeton, NJ, USA.


IEEE KOJI KOBAYASHI COMPUTERS AND COMMUNICATIONS AWARD—recognizes outstanding contributions to the integration of computers and communications—sponsored by NEC Corporation



For contributions to congestion control and scheduling in computer communication networks

Sound and practical congestion control is fundamental to the operation of the Internet, and R. Srikant’s pioneering resource allocation tools for communication networks have helped realize this. Srikant’s work on the Adaptive Virtual Queue for congestion indication at routers and on a high-speed version of the Transmission Control Protocol (TCP), called TCP-Illinois, have led to next-generation Internet congestion control algorithms. In wireless communications, he was the first to recognize the importance of opportunistic scheduling in wireless networks with fairness guarantees, using the idea of weighted fair queueing for resource allocation. He was also among the first to apply dual decomposition techniques for resource allocation in wireless networks.

An IEEE Fellow, Srikant is the Fredric G. and Elizabeth H. Nearing Endowed Professor with the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering and Coordinated Science Lab at the University of Illinois, Urbana, IL, USA.


The IEEE INFOCOM Achievement Award is the highest honor that can be bestowed on a researcher in the INFOCOM community.  The recipient should have a body of work that has had significant impacts on the networking community in general, and INFOCOM in particular.

2019 IEEE INFOCOM Achievement Award

Victor Bahl

for contributions to dynamic spectrum access and wireless LAN technologies

Victor Bahl has made pioneering and lasting contributions in computer networking. His work on indoor localization and on exploiting properties of radio frequency signals for goals beyond communications still serves as a model for much of the work in the area today. His work on edge computing, dynamic spectrum access, multi-radio systems, channel access scheduling, energy efficient systems, enterprise network management, cloud-powered mobile systems, and topology control of ad hoc wireless networks, have all made profound impact on the research community.  Bahl is most known for the ground-breaking networked systems he has built and deployed. Some of these systems are being used by hundreds of millions of people around the world.  The underlying technologies used to build these networks have ushered new areas of research in the research community. In addition to his research accomplishments, Bahl has played a significant leadership role in the mobile networking community and its associated conferences.  

An IEEE Fellow, Bahl is a Distinguished Scientist with Microsoft Research, Redmond, WA, USA.


IEEE INFOCOM Test of Time Paper Award

2019 IEEE INFOCOM Test of Time Paper Award

The IEEE INFOCOM Test of Time Paper Award recognizes papers published between 10 to 12 years ago (a three-year window) in the INFOCOM proceedings that have been most cited and widely recognized to have a significant impact on the research community.  For 2019, papers published in 2007 – 2009 INFOCOM proceedings are eligible. 

For 2019, the award committee has selected the following paper for this award:

“Power Awareness in Network Design and Routing," in Proc. of IEEE INFOCOM 2008
Joseph Chabarek, Joel Sommers, Paul Barford, Cristian Estan, David Tsiang, and Stephen Wright 


IEEE INFOCOM Best Paper Award

IEEE INFOCOM 2019 Best Paper Award

RF-Mehndi: A Fingertip Profiled RF Identifier
Cui Zhao (Xi'an Jiaotong University, P.R. China); Zhenjiang Li (City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong); Han Ding (Xi'an Jiaotong University, P.R. China); Jinsong Han (Zhejiang University & Institute of Cyber Security Research, P.R. China); Wei Xi (Xi'an Jiaotong University, P.R. China); Ting Liu (Xi'an Jiaotong University, PRC, P.R. China); Ruowei Gui (Xi'an Jiaotong University, P.R. China)

Counterintuitive Characteristics of Optimal Distributed LRU Caching Over Unreliable Channels
Guocong Quan, Jian Tan and Atilla Eryilmaz (The Ohio State University, USA)

Combinatorial Sleeping Bandits with Fairness Constraints
Fengjiao Li (Temple University, USA); Jia Liu (Iowa State University, USA); Bo Ji (Temple University, USA)


Student Travel Grant Sponsors